Board of Directors

If you are an enthusiastic, forward thinker, if you care deeply about your community, and if you have experience or skills related to nonprofit organizations or business, we would love you to consider joining the Board of Directors of the Kelowna & District Safety Council. Since 1980, KDSC has been dedicated to promoting safety awareness and accident prevention within the Okanagan through public education and safety training. KDSC serves individuals of all ages. We believe safety helps ensure people can live richer, more enjoyable lives.

KDSC’s Board of Directors oversees organizational finances, overall program offerings, and strategic planning to enhance long-term sustainability and maximize positive outcomes in the community. Directors are an important part of the society’s operation and provide input on a variety of areas including policy development, finances, fund development, programming, and marketing. Directors meet monthly, and while new Directors are usually elected at KDSC’s Annual General Meeting, appointments to fill vacancies can be made at any time.

Interested applicants should send a brief cover letter and resume to Board vacancies are limited, therefore applications will be evaluated according to KDSC’s current governance needs and priorities. Previous experience as a nonprofit director is highly desirable, and applicants are expected to commit to regular attendance of meetings. All applications will be gratefully acknowledged.

Current Board of Directors

Eric Ledding, President

Shawn Speirs, Vice President

Brian Elliot, Secretery

Shelley Kvamme-MacDonald, Treasurer

Barry Oland, Director

Richard Elliott, Director